Studying Too Hard?

I know there’s something called studying hard, but is it really possible to study too hard?  I can never really figure out what that means.

Mocks have ended a little more than a week ago…but now, I’d like to look into the future a little bit.  When we say that mocks have ended, we’re really saying that we’re one step closer to the real thing.  One step closer to the real IB exams…and one step closer to graduation (which seems a little too far away considering how intimidating the IB exams makes the students).  Whenever I think about my very first paper, I immediately think that I’m going to want to kick butt.

And when I say kick butt, I mean kick butt.  It’s not necessarily getting the best of the best (which is a really Asian thing that I don’t possess…fake Asians), but it’s to meet expectations.  It’s a combination of many expectations: my teachers’, my parents’, my friends’, my own.  And it’s all high expectations.  It’s not unachievable, but it’s not…particularly easy either.  Just like everything else in life.

So when our Vice Principal (who happens to be a very nice person — I have a good relationship with him) caught me studying in the library on Tuesday afternoon, he asked me why I’m studying, and claimed that I’m “studying too hard and should be out with my friends having lunch.”

Pause: isn’t that something we were taught to do?  To work hard to achieve our goals?

I mean, I guess there are some things in life that will need more than just merely hard work to attain.  For instance, we might have to be passionate about certain things in order to really drive our mentality into really working hard, like how it works for me as an amateur breakdancer.  But there are just some subjects that I can’t be completely passionate about, such as Chemistry (sorry KC).  Sometimes, I just really have to force myself to actively study these crazy organic compounds and bond shapes…which isn’t necessarily tedious, but it’s just difficult since Chemistry isn’t my forte.

I digress: weren’t we taught to work hard to achieve our goals?  Because when it comes to working, let alone working hard, I wasn’t really aware that there’d be a line between working hard and…working too hard.  If there’s even a line at all.

What exactly does it mean to be studying too hard?  Does it mean that I’m stressed out?  Because I don’t really…believe that — I don’t feel stressed at all.  Am I supposed to feel stress?  I don’t necessarily enjoy studying, but I don’t treat it like it’s an obligation either — or do I?

Screen Shot 2014-02-10 at 22.46.04

One thought on “Studying Too Hard?

  1. Haha. Every time I hear people say organic compounds are crazy, I am reminded of the fact that somewhere out there is a person to whom doing trigonometry with the number i makes perfect sense.

    Anyways, you ask some pretty big questions in your post… I’ve never really understood working too hard. Working for the wrong reasons, yes, but too hard…I don’t think it’s really possible.
    I think by studying too hard, le VP probably meant studying to a point where you’re just stressing yourself out (ie. not finding an appropriate balance between work and play). Doing any intense activity for a prolonged period of time is likely to result in some degree of stress (not necessarily anxiety, but certainly physical and/or mental stress is possible).
    I think if you don’t treat studying as an obligation (presumably you’re treating it as something you are doing to achieve your goals?) then you’re on the right track.
    “Am I supposed to feel stress?” Many people do. My mother had nightmares about her A-levels even when she was in university. It’s a pretty anxiety-inducing time for a great many people, particularly people who feel a lot of pressure to meet the expectations or perceived expectations of teachers/family/friends/self. If you’re one of the lucky ones who isn’t feeling ridiculously stressed out about it, then good for you!

Leave a Comment

