Let’s Talk About Resolutions

I’m not really one who enjoys counting down.  It’s not that I’m not fond of large crowds and the cacophonous screaming after the fireworks start, or the fact that everyone seems to be getting somewhat drunk when midnight strikes on January 1st every year.  Truth is, I sometimes don’t really see the point.  Sure, it’s a new year, but so what?  I don’t believe in the whole “New Year, New Me” nonsense because realistically, between today and yesterday, you’re still the same person, but only a few minutes older.

As cynical as this may seem, New Year silently reminds you that you’re getting older.

But since we’re already on the topic, let’s talk about New Year resolutions.  Let’s be honest, nobody keeps those.  I’m still keeping up with the resolutions I made back in 2009 and out of the dozens that I managed to accumulate on that list, I’ve literally only completed five of them, namely: (1) Learn how to breakdance, (2) Get better grades, (3) Stop mispronouncing the word “synecdoche,” (4) Let go of my past, (5) Survive the year.  Otherwise, I’ve never kept the other resolutions.  I never stopped being so talkative, I never considered becoming a doctor, and I never stopped scratching my pimples.

What can I say, resolutions are difficult to keep.  Sometimes, I really wonder what is the purpose of having New Year resolutions.  Is it just to make you a better person when you probably know that it won’t since you technically can’t change who you are unless you really try (in which case, you probably can’t get that resolution down until a couple more years)?  Or is it just something you outline out of sheer boredom?  I would agree with both, but now that I think about it, there may be something else to it.

Although I don’t see much point in celebrating New Year (don’t get me wrong: I like it because it gives me an extra day to complete my homework), I do think that resolutions are actually helpful, even if you don’t necessarily follow them.  While it does force you to become a better person, it also forces you to know and understand yourself better.  Let’s face it: we all have flaws or idiosyncrasies  that we aren’t necessarily proud of and therefore don’t want to recognise.  I feel like resolutions really make you acknowledge your weaknesses because although it may not seem like it, realising your flaws can be cathartic.  It may be difficult to admit, but there are some things people can change.  Just know it, accept it, and move on because even if it’s a resolution, some rules are meant to be broken after all.

Happy New Year!

Screen Shot 2014-01-01 at 12.37.30

5 thoughts on “Let’s Talk About Resolutions

  1. Resolutions can change, too… You might someday realise you don’t actually want to stop being so talkative, if you haven’t already.

    I ditched one of my resolutions two weeks into the year, because I realised it wasn’t actually what I wanted.

    1. Yeah that’s why resolutions are so hard to keep. Nonetheless, it’s still good to at least have them for the reason explained in the post, i.e. you recognise what you believe is your weakness. It doesn’t matter whether or not you actually manage to change yourself at the end of the day, as long as you’re not in denial, so to speak.

      1. Self-awareness is definitely a major benefit of making resolutions (not just about finding your faults, but also your strengths, ie. “I develop my ___ skills more.”, but I think having resolutions at all is important just because as a species we’re pretty resistant to change, and it takes a certain level of motivation to be willing to initiate that change.

  2. I like your writing style a lot. It’s sort of curt and sarcastic, like you’re annoyed that we’re all reading your personal journal but secretly you hoped we would…if that makes any sense at all. I like your point about New Years being a time to reflect, even if we don’t act upon it. I think that the New Year gives us a distinct time (even though it’s completely arbitrary) to take stock of our lives and really consider.

    -Taylor
    http://tayloryates.wordpress.com

    1. While it may seem arbitrary, every few years it does feel like it’s necessary to look back and think, “I really gotta grow up starting tomorrow…” It was definitely the case for me every…two-ish years which is apparently really consistent, but it did enhance the self-reflection bit. That being said, I really don’t think fireworks are really needed to wake me up at midnight on January 1st! (They are pretty though)

Leave a Comment

